Early Years

The Curriculum in the Preschool is made up of the combination of the National Curriculum of the United Kingdom, the International Program of the University of Cambridge for the primary stage, the Curriculum of Orientation for the Initial Stage (Foundation Stage) and the requirements of the Ministry of Education in Colombia. These curriculum and programs are combined to provide the appropriate structure so that students can be trained with the profile of the BIS.

One of the objectives of the BIS is to implement in our Pre-School the best teaching practices existing in the United Kingdom. For this reason our Preschool is divided into two sections, which follow different but complementary programs. Nursery and Reception are known as the Initial Stage or Foundation Stage, during these two years the children will develop the necessary structures that will be the basis of all their future learning. Years 1 (Y1) and 2 (Y2) are known as Stage 1 or Key Stage 1.

In the first two levels of Preschool (Nursery and Reception) the program "Foundation Stage" is developed, the teachers plan by areas of learning, which are broader in content than the traditional subjects taught in Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2), Primary and Secondary. The justification for working by areas of learning instead of subjects is that, at a very young age, the development of skills is much more important than knowledge of the content of a subject. The Curriculum of the Foundation Stage recognizes that there are skills and ideas that in certain areas are common to more than one subject.

The table below shows the Learning Areas and identifies the subjects by areas of Key Stage 1 with which they are related:

Learning Area Stage of "Foundation Stage"
(Nursery and Reception)

Subjects of the Key Stage Stage 1
((Year 1 and Year 2)

Social Behaviour, Ethics and Social Values ​Behaviour

Social Behaviour

Personal, Social and Emotional Development Personal

Social and Health Education and Citizenship

Communication, Language and Literature (CLL)


Mathematical Development


Knowledge and Understanding of the World

Science, Humanities, ICT, Religion

Creative Development / Art

Art, Music and Dance

Physical Development

Gross and Fine Motor Development

The "Foundation Stage" Curriculum divides each learning area into branches, for example, Communication, Language and Literature is divided into: language for communication, language for thinking, phonics, reading, writing and calligraphy. The competencies that need to be developed are identified within these ramifications.

Children in Years 1 and 2 (Key Stage 1) follow a curriculum based on the National Curriculum of the United Kingdom and the guidelines of the Ministry of National Education of Colombia, designated to follow the "Foundation Stage", recognizing that children are ready for a structured and somewhat more formal study program.

The students follow a schedule that is divided into the following subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Spanish
  • Natural sciences and environmental education
  • Social Sciences: History / Geography
  • Information and communication technology (ICT)
  • Art
  • Music
  • Physical education
  • Religion
  • Social Behaviour, Ethics and Values

This curriculum provides a broad set of learning objectives that detail what the student should know and what they should be able to do at the end of each year (stage) of the program. An important characteristic of our curriculum is its way of working with contents in a differentiated and spiral way, which means that the developed skills and concepts are taken up again and again by children, in different ways and through different themes, either during the course of the academic year or in the course of their education in the Early Years and Primary.